Hymn for Sunday – In My Heart There Rings a Melody   12 comments


 

In My Heart There Rings a Melody

I have a song that Jesus gave me,
It was sent from heaven above;
There never was a sweeter melody,
‘Tis a melody of love.

Chorus
In my heart there rings a melody,
There rings a melody with heaven’s harmony;
In my heart there rings a melody;
There rings a melody of love!

Chorus 

I love the Christ who died on Calv’ry,
For He washed my sins away;
He put within my heart a melody,
And I know it’s there to stay.

Chorus

‘Twill be my endless theme in glory,
With the angels I will sing;
‘Twill be a song with glorious harmony,
When the courts of heaven ring.

Chorus

.

.

.

The author and composer of this hymn, Elton Roth, was a well-known musician of his day. It was while assisting with evangelistic meetings in Texas on a hot summer day in 1923 that the words and music for this hymn suddenly came to him. Mr. Roth recalled, “That evening I introduced the song by having more than 200 boys and girls sing it at the open air meeting, after which the audience joined in the singing. I was thrilled as it seemed my whole being was transformed into song.”

Amazing Grace – 366 Inspiring Hymnal Stories by Kenneth W. Osbeck

Sunday Morning Post Script!

In my comments, Ellen’s “Dear” just asked, “what prompted you to sing that song?” 

I should have included this in my post!  Duh!

Answer:  I was reading a quote I had jotted down and knew I wanted to post a hymn for Sunday.  Here’s the quote:

I never knew how to worship until I knew how to love
Henry Ward Beecher

“Melody of love” popped in my head  when I read that quote and I started singing the chorus.  I looked up the rest of the words to the hymn and look how fitting the words are when you read the quote!  Go figure!

12 responses to “Hymn for Sunday – In My Heart There Rings a Melody

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re taking me back…I’m singing the chorus and “Dear” just asked, “what prompted you to sing that song?”

  2. ask Michelle about this one….

  3. hmmmmm – sounds interesting! I will ask her!

  4. I LOVE this song! My mom used to sing it to us. Hearing it (or reading the lyrics…I’m humming along right now) has always taken me back to my childhood and brought joy to my heart at the reminder of the wonderful melody of love that lives there because of Jesus! Thanks Lana!

  5. I was reading the passage that our pastor will be preaching next Sunday . . . Ephesians 5:19
    19 Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord; KJV
    . . . and I remembered the words of that wonderful hymn I sang as a child. So I googled the words and found this site. I remember my Dad leading that song at FBC Dallas on a Sunday night . . . he would hold us on “In . . . . my . . . . heart . . . there rings a melody. I’ve asked our minister of music to inlude it, if she can, in our worshp for this coming Sunday. We golden oldies in the church will know it.

  6. I was looking for a song my grandchildren can sing for their White Sunday Church Program. My daughter suggested this song that they used to sing at Sunday School. But the problem is that she does not remember all the words except “in my heart there rings a melody”. She then googled it, and, hallelujah!, we’re looking at the entire song on the computer. What a beautiful song.

  7. Thanks for your comments on Elton Roth’s gospel song. (Today is the 59th anniversary of his death.) If you enjoy reading about our hymns and their authors, I invite you to check out my daily blog on the subject, Wordwise Hymns. God bless.

  8. This song is so great, and hard to find these days. I remember the “Children’s Bible Hour ” cousins choir used
    to sing another chorus ( or perhaps a verse) along with this posted one. “Morning, noon and night, I have a song that Jeasus gave me,
    It’s a song I love to sing, for it rings from above”. Does anybody else recall this one?
    Tahnks so much for posting it.

  9. This is a song that I chose for our tiny choir to sing as our theme for June, in our little White Church in the Wild Wood. It is a happy song that I hope to sing on my way through the Valley of the Shadow of Death, and I’ll make it so bright, clear and Loud, that no one will fear that walk and they will know I’m on my way to meet Jesus, knowing He is with me all the way.

  10. Thank you for all the info of this beautiful song. I only remember the chorus. Sometimes I wake up in the night and there a song in my mind, and I would concentrate on this song- melody until Iv’e got the melody right and the words, sometimes from way back. This happened last night and I could remember the melody, but not the other verses. It really is A Spiritual Song from heaven.

  11. I love this song so much! It still rings in my heart.

  12. After I initially commented Iappear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox
    and now henever a comment is added I receive 4 emaqils with the same comment.
    Perhaps there is a way you can remove me from that service?
    Kudos!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers