Praying the Names of God – El Roi   15 comments

 

in-the-wildernesslg.jpg

Praying the Names of God
by Ann Spangler

The following are excerpts from Ann Spangler’s Chapter on the Name of God: El Roi (EL raw-EE). The God Who Sees Me.

Genesis 16:7:15

The angel of the LORD found Hagar near a spring in the desert; it was the spring that is beside the road to Shur.
And he said, “Hagar, servant of Sarai, where have you come from, and where are you going?” “I’m running away from my mistress Sarai,” she answered.
Then the angel of the LORD told her, “Go back to your mistress and submit to her.”
The angel added, “I will increase your descendants so much that they will be too numerous to count.”
The angel of the LORD also said to her: “You are now pregnant and you will give birth to a son. You shall name him Ishmael, for the LORD has heard of your misery.
He will be a wild donkey of a man; his hand will be against everyone and everyone’s hand against him, and he will live in hostility toward all his brothers.”
She gave this name to the LORD who spoke to her: “You are the God who sees me,” for she said, “I have now seen the One who sees me.”
That is why the well was called Beer Lahai Roi; it is still there, between Kadesh and Bered.
So Hagar bore Abram a son, and Abram gave the name Ishmael to the son she had borne.

An Egyptian slave, Hagar encountered  God in the desert and addressed him as El Roi “the God who sees me.” Notably, this is the only occurence of El Roi in the Bible.

Hagar’s God is the One who numbers the hairs on our heads and who knows our circumstances, past, present, and future.  When you pray to El Roi, you are praying to the one who knows everything about you.

Psalm 33:13-15
From heaven the LORD looks down and sees all humankind; from his dwelling place he watches all who live on earth—he who forms the hearts of all,who considers everything they do.

Even the most watchful parent must sleep. But scripture makes it clear God never slumbers, never looks one way while we head off in another, never misses a millisecond of what is happening on earth.

El Roi, a God so watchful that He is said to note even when the smallest sparrow falls to the ground. This is the God who watches over you today, whether or not you recognize his presence. Aware that you may sometimes find yourself in desolate places, he is always near, helping you find a path through troubles, working out his plans for your future.

Artwork:  one of my new favorite artists – Deborah DeWit Marchant

Posted June 18, 2007 by Lana G! in Art, Bible, Books, Christianity, God, Prayer, Quotes

15 responses to “Praying the Names of God – El Roi

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So often I feel invisible, my life just a collection of the trivial and the mundane. How thankful I am that my God is the God Who Sees. I am not invisible to Him, nor am I beyond His reach and His care!

  2. I just attended a ladies’ retreat where we focused on the names of God – this name and the story of Hagar truly touched my heart. I am thrilled to know that my Father in heaven can see me; true I still have many dark places that shame me, but to know that He pursues me when I run away – like Hagar, He sees me and brings me home. And the knowledge that I am not returning alone…what joy!! Praise Jehovah Shalom!

  3. Thank you for this. I was researching the names of God so when I pray they can be incorporated. This was a very good addition. Thank you very much.

  4. Pingback: The Woman Who Named God « Creo en Dios!

  5. I love this name for God. It is so touching to me and in a way soothes and calms me, knowing that he is always there watching over me. I loved it so much that I got my Professor to translate it into Hebrew transcript and I got a tattoo of it. I love it so much and the meaning and the story behind it. GOD IS GREAT!!!

    • Interesting….. My niece had the same Hebrew tattoo done on her lower neck between her shoulders as a testimony to God’s care for her and her son. Yes, God is truly great!

  6. Hi! Great post. I linked up to it in my post regarding this story. I found what you wrote to be worth noting. Be blessed!

    Jessica

    http://spiritandtruthstudy.blogspot.com/2009/10/god-sees-and-god-hears.html

  7. I wrote a book that will be available by July 2012–Relax On Impact- R.O.I. is most definitely The God Who Sees. He literally told me to Relax On Impact (ROI) while in as car wreck and I emerged unhurt. Thank you God!!!

  8. This is my absolute FAVORITE name of God. Psalm 135:16 speaks of false gods/idols that have eyes but cannot see. I’m so glad to serve the living God that sees me! Hallelujah!

  9. I personally really want to book mark this particular post, “Praying the Names
    of God – El Roi | Above the Clouds” on my website.
    Will you mind in case I personallydo? Thx ,Ramiro

  10. Pingback: Lenten Devotion: God Sees | Congregational United Church of Christ, Ogden, Utah

  11. Pingback: El Roi – Genesis 16:13 | Above the Clouds

  12. Pingback: PRAY | Philadelphia Ministries & Training Center

  13. The true name of GOD is YAHWAH ELOHEEM. Just because I call you by a name, that surely doesn’t mean it is your name. DOES IT?

Leave a comment