Tuesdays in “other” Words   11 comments

dscf0693.jpg 

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.”
~ C.S. Lewis ~

In reading the above quote, several scripture verses popped into my head about how “daily” are walk with the Lord here on earth truly is.  Like my daily cup of coffee, so should be my daily drink of the living word.  Daily we must step back up on the altar and offer ourselves to the Lord to do as he pleases.  Daily we walk back into the school of the Lord to learn a new truth.  Daily we are to practice what we learn or preach!  Check these verses out:

.

Matthew 6:11
Give us today our daily bread.  (It does not say our weekly bread or our yearly bread!)

.

Matthew 6:34
Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. 

.

Luke 9:23
Then he said to them all: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.

.

1 Thessalonians 4:11-12
Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life, to mind your own business and to work with your hands, just as we told you, so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody.

.

Hebrews 3:13
But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.

.

If we do not do these things daily – we will forget who really is in control. We will forget who we are in Christ.  We will start to rely on ourselves – A huge mistake! I think this passage in James sums it up:

.

James 1:22 Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. 23 Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror 24 and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. 25 But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it–he will be blessed in what he does.

.

May I daily follow Jesus and not forget what I look like in Him!

.

Check out what “other” words have been said at Sting My Heart 

Posted July 10, 2007 by Lana G! in Faith, God, In Other Words, Jesus, Life, Quotes

11 responses to “Tuesdays in “other” Words

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love to do searches through the Bible for words as a Bible study….you found some great ones for us to reflect on…thanks!

  2. Great post! Love the verses you chose. Bless you for sharing.

  3. Thank you for posting these scriptures….it was beautiful reading them.

  4. Love the daily verses. Love the coffee photo. Now I want to sing day by day …

  5. Beautifully said, bless you always.

  6. I needed to hear this today. Thank you…for everything-love you! 🙂 🙂

  7. “May I daily follow Jesus and not forget what I look like in Him!”

    That’s my favorite line in your post. Thanks for giving us these Scriptures as a reminder. (Love that coffee photo!)

  8. I love that verse in James about the mirror and forgetting what they look like…sounds so weird, but is so true. Beautifully written!

  9. Good words! I need Him daily, hourly, minute by minute…

  10. Pingback: Sting My Heart » Blog Archive » Every Single Day

  11. Lana, thank you so much for sharing those beautiful Scripture passages in connection with the past week’s IOW quote.
    It is true, we need to realign our walk with Him on a daily basis — nothing better than to go to His Word.

    Be blessed today and always.

Leave a comment