Archive for September 23, 2007

Autumn is Here!   15 comments

 

 

Sing to the Lord of harvest,
Sing songs of love and praise;
With joyful hearts and voices
Your alleluias raise.
By Him the rolling seasons
In fruitful order move;
Sing to the Lord of harvest,
A joyous song of love.

By John Samuel Bewley Monsell
1811-1875

Posted September 23, 2007 by Lana G! in Autumn, Hymns, Photo, Photography, Worship

Fall Reading Challenge   42 comments

The Fall Into Reading 2007 challenge is here!  Here is my reading list for Fall:

Non Fiction:

Get out of That Pit  by Beth Moore  Review Here

Kingdom Triangle: Recover the Christian Mind, Renovate the Soul, Restore the Spirit’s Power by J. P. Moreland

Fiction:

Dearest Dorothy, If Not Now, When? by Charlene Baumbich

Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim, Book 1) by Jan Karon

Voyage of Slaves: A Tale From Castaways of the Flying Dutchman by Brian Jacques

The following 5 books by Dorothy Sayers:

Gaudy Nights

Busman’s Honeymoon

The Five Red Herrings

Murder Must Advertise

 The Nine Tailors

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khalid Hosseini

Peace Like a River by Leif Enger  Review Here

Disclaimer!  This list is subject to change on a daily basis! 🙂

Just Added (See what I mean):

Candy Cane Murder (Hannah Swensen Mystery) by Joanne Fluke

Magic and Other Misdemeanors (The Sisters Grimm, Book 5) by Michael Buckley

Head on over to Callapiddar Days to see all the other reading lists out there and join the fun!

Posted September 23, 2007 by Lana G! in Books, Challenge, Fall, Friends, Reading

Hymn for Sunday – With Grateful Heart My Thanks I Bring   2 comments

saturday-012.jpg

The Psal­ter, 1912

WITH GRATEFUL HEART MY THANKS I BRING

With grateful heart my thanks I bring,
Before the great Thy praise I sing;
I worship in Thy holy place
And praise Thee for Thy truth and grace;
For truth and grace together shine
In Thy most holy Word divine,
In Thy most holy Word divine.

I cried to Thee and Thou didst save,
Thy Word of grace new courage gave;
The kings of earth shall thank Thee, Lord,
For they have heard Thy wondrous Word;
Yea, they shall come with songs of praise,
For great and glorious are Thy ways,
For great and glorious are Thy ways.

O Lord, enthroned in glory bright,
Thou reignest in the heavenly height;
The proud in vain Thy favor seek,
But Thou hast mercy for the meek;
Through trouble though my pathway be,
Thou wilt retrieve and strengthen me,
Thou wilt retrieve and strengthen me.

Thou wilt stretch forth Thy mighty arm
To save me when my foes alarm;
The work Thou hast for me begun
Shall by Thy grace be fully done;
Forever mercy dwells with Thee;
O Lord, my Maker, think on me,
O Lord, my Maker, think on me.

Posted September 23, 2007 by Lana G! in Hymns, Lyrics, Music, Sunday, Worship