Archive for September 11, 2007

An All American Tea Party!   16 comments

You Are Invited

In honor of 9/11, I would like to invite you today to my All American Tea Party!  This is a tea to remember, reflect and be thankful for America.  For those of you outside the USA, you are welcome as well. 

collage79.jpg

Thank you for stopping by today!

To see my Autumn Elegance Tea Party Click Autumn

Posted September 11, 2007 by Lana G! in Blog, Books, Entertainment, Fellowship, History, Tea Party

Woman to Woman – Gratitude   12 comments

woman to woman

 

Today’s Woman to Woman assignment is to list eleven items of gratitude, along with an explanation. The reason for eleven is because its September 11th.

dscf0090.jpg

  1. My Savior- Jesus is the only way I can survive this journey called life and the only reason for this journey called life.
  2. My Husband – My best friend and partner whom I love dearly – my other companion on this journey called life.
  3. My family – Joy, pure joy! The fact that 99% are Christians is a blessing beyond measure!
  4. My Job – I love my job.  I have been working at the same job going on 25 years. YIKES!
  5. My Country – Very proud to be an American – especially today!
  6. My Friends- Support, Love, Fellowship, what else can you say!
  7. My HB sister and brother-in-law – Thank you for letting me live with you when I am down in CA!  You don’t know what that means to me! I am grateful, truly grateful.
  8. My frequent flyer miles – The ability to travel and see different places has been an eye opening experience – and to think I used to be scared of flying and now I am on a plane two days a week! Love the airplane now!
  9. My Blog – What a true joy this blog has been to me. The ability to “visit” others around the globe is amazing!
  10. My weekends – Cherish them, oh how I cherish them!
  11. My camera – Okay, I don’t leave home without it!  The ability to capture the moment is a wonderful pleasure!

 For more Woman to Woman Gratitude posts go to Seeds in my Garden  and My Many Colored Days

Posted September 11, 2007 by Lana G! in Woman to Woman

Tuesdays In Other Words   9 comments

 

“The worth and excellency of a soul is to be measured by the object of its love.”
Henry Scougal (The Life of God in the Soul of Man), quoted by John Piper in The Pleasures of God

dscf2681.jpg

When I read this quote, the chorus of the song Torn Between Two Lovers (by Peter Yarrow) came to mind:

Torn between two lovers, feelin’ like a fool
Lovin’ both of you is breakin’ all the rules
Torn between two lovers, feelin’ like a fool
Lovin’ you both is breakin’ all the rules

I know! Corny, oh so corny but for me, those words truly reflect my life here on earth.  My constant battle to be in the world but not of the world.  The constant battle of the old man and the new man fighting it out for control.  The constant battle of Christ having first place in my life or listening to Satan’s easy way out.

The following verse really does a nice job of showing where my focus is sometimes:

“Thus I considered all my activities which my hands had done and the labor which I had exerted, and behold all was vanity (futility) and chasing after the wind and there was no profit under the sun.” Ecc. 2:11

That verse is so ME, ME, ME oriented.  That is what happens when I hold the steering wheel!  Futility, chasing after the wind and no profit whatsoever; not a very worthy or excellent soul.

But, when I have the right focus, when the object of my love is Christ and his wonderous work that all changes:

Matthew 6:24 “No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money. 25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? 

Matthew 6:33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hebrews 12:1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. 2 Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Where is my focus? That is a daily question!  May it be on Christ my Savior!  It’s ALL ABOUT JESUS! Blessings on you all today.  For more In Other Words, visit Laurel Wreath and be encouraged.

Posted September 11, 2007 by Lana G! in Bible, Blog, Christianity, Faith, In Other Words, Jesus, Love, Love Song, Quotes, Thoughts