Archive for September 17, 2007

Tuesdays – In Other Words   11 comments

saturday-219.jpg

“They gave our Master a crown of thorns. Why do we hope for a crown of roses?” (Martin Luther)

This is the quote Iris at Sting My Heart has chosen this week for Tuesdays – In Other Words.

Here are my thoughts on this week’s quote…

John 16:33 – I have told you these things so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.

Yes, I know that this world is filled with trials and trouble.  I know that I am not done having my fair share of more trials and trouble in this world.  But, here is why I DO hope for a crown of roses!  Its why I can live day to day in this world.  It is because of what Jesus has already done and I am taking heart! Jesus has overcome this world and I am running to get the prize – a crown that will last forever.

I Corinthians 9:24 – Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. 26 Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. 27 No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

So, yes I am hoping for a crown of roses!  Whatever that may end up looking like; but, NOT in this life! No, siree!  I’m waiting for the final prize in my eternal home and I am pressing on for that goal! That is what makes WHATEVER happens in this life worth it. I am striving for my FINAL prize.  Thank you Jesus that you are my final prize and I can’t wait to fall at your feet and worship you forever and ever more!  I can only imagine…

For more thoughts on this quote, head on over to Iris’s at Sting My Heart.

 

 

Posted September 17, 2007 by Lana G! in In Other Words, Jesus, Quotes

Beach Wedding   7 comments

Saturday, we went to a wedding ON the beach …

cccollage1.jpg

 

Probably one of the most beautiful weddings I have ever been to…

 

cccollage15.jpg

 

May God Bless Your Marriage C&C!

Posted September 17, 2007 by Lana G! in Events, Love, Photo, Relaxation, Saturday, Wedding

Weekend Delights – Julienne   7 comments

Saturday we celebrated my lovely niece Michelle’s birthday at a wonderful restaurant called Julienne in San Marino. 

Here are some pictures of the fun, food and fellowship…

jcollage2.jpg

The cast of characters: Ellen B and Dear, Kelly, Debbee, Melissa, Jack, Kathy, Ryan and Michelle, Lana G! and Steve and of course, Herbert the waiter!

 

jcollage1.jpg

All I have to say about the food is DUHLISHUS!

 

jcollage3.jpg

Here is the cutest character of them all!

(Happy Birthday Michelle!)

Posted September 17, 2007 by Lana G! in Birthday, Events, Family, Fellowship, Food, Fun, Restaurant