Archive for September 28, 2007

Peace Like A River   5 comments

I just finished it! Marvelous. 

I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  The author has a way of drawing you into the story, so much so, that you feel like you are sitting along side each character.  You can see what they see; taste what they taste; and most definitely feel what they feel. 

Being that Ruben, the main character of this book, narrates the story, makes this book a success.  You laugh, cry, and feel awe inspired.  You feel the hair rise in terror on your neck.  You are thankful for every breath you are able to take!

My favorite character:  Swede!  I love her spunk and the way she writes!  She always had words!

Favorite quotes: 

“Here was the whole dizzying sky bowled up over us.  We were inside the sky.  It didn’t make the stars any closer, only clearer… Swede should’ve been there, she’d have had words.  She’d have know that orange to be volcanic or forgestruck or a pinprick between our blackened world and one the color of sunsets.  I thought of God making it all, picking up handfuls of whatever material…rolling it in His fingers like nubby wheat. The picture I had was of God taking these rough pellets by the handful and casting them gently, like a man planting.” (Page 224-225)

“Fair is whatever God wants to do.” (Page 294)

Run to your bookstore and pick this book up today! 

 

Posted September 28, 2007 by Lana G! in Book Review, Books, Challenge, Reading

Photo Hunters – Original   36 comments

PhotoHunters 

dscf4029.JPG

An Original Cloud Formation

I think Casper is still around!

Posted September 28, 2007 by Lana G! in Photo, Photo Hunters, Photography

Waiting…   4 comments

 dscf0638.JPG

Going through a serious time of waiting on God right now.  In the midst of this waiting, I received an e-mail from my brother and he shared a quote that reached out and grabbed me.  He was not sure who the author of the quote was; he thought it might be Paul Tripp.  Here’s the quote:

“Waiting on God isn’t about the suspension of meaning and purpose. It’s part of the meaning and purpose that God has brought into my life. Waiting on God isn’t to be viewed as an obstruction in the way of the plan. Waiting is an essential part of the plan. For the child of God, waiting isn’t simply about what I’ll receive at the end of my wait. No, waiting is much more purposeful, efficient, and practical than that. Waiting is fundamentally about what I’ll become as I wait. God is using the wait to do in and through me exactly what He’s promised. Through the wait He’s changing me. By means of the wait He’s altering the fabric of my thoughts and desires. Through the wait He’s causing me to see and experience new things about Him and His kingdom. And all of this sharpens me, enabling me to be a more useful tool in His redemptive hands.”

Micah 7:7 But as for me, I watch in hope for the Lord, I wait for God my Savior; my God will hear me.

Posted September 28, 2007 by Lana G! in God, hope, Life, Photo, Quotes, Wilderness Wandering

Comma   4 comments

dscf4131.JPG 

“Never place a period where God has placed a comma.”

Gracie Allen

Posted September 28, 2007 by Lana G! in God, Quotes