Tuesdays – In Other Words   11 comments

saturday-219.jpg

“They gave our Master a crown of thorns. Why do we hope for a crown of roses?” (Martin Luther)

This is the quote Iris at Sting My Heart has chosen this week for Tuesdays – In Other Words.

Here are my thoughts on this week’s quote…

John 16:33 – I have told you these things so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.

Yes, I know that this world is filled with trials and trouble.  I know that I am not done having my fair share of more trials and trouble in this world.  But, here is why I DO hope for a crown of roses!  Its why I can live day to day in this world.  It is because of what Jesus has already done and I am taking heart! Jesus has overcome this world and I am running to get the prize – a crown that will last forever.

I Corinthians 9:24 – Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. 26 Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. 27 No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

So, yes I am hoping for a crown of roses!  Whatever that may end up looking like; but, NOT in this life! No, siree!  I’m waiting for the final prize in my eternal home and I am pressing on for that goal! That is what makes WHATEVER happens in this life worth it. I am striving for my FINAL prize.  Thank you Jesus that you are my final prize and I can’t wait to fall at your feet and worship you forever and ever more!  I can only imagine…

For more thoughts on this quote, head on over to Iris’s at Sting My Heart.

 

 

Posted September 17, 2007 by Lana G! in In Other Words, Jesus, Quotes

11 responses to “Tuesdays – In Other Words

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amen to that! Let’s strive to reach for the goal. That crown of roses in heaven will be the sweetest of all smells. 😀

  2. great post! Striving for that eternal crown. Bless you for sharing.

  3. AMEN…that crown of roses will only be glorious in the Kingdom of God…Very well said…I enjoyed my visit today!!
    be blessed,
    Lori

  4. Awesome post, bless you.

  5. what stunning flowers and a gorgeous post

  6. Thanks for the reminder that our prize is not in our comfort here on earth, but in Heaven!

  7. Love your take on this post. It reminded me of reading a mystery novel with a suprise ending.
    God bless

  8. Amen. If we have something that beautfiful here to behold think of how much more beautiful seeing our Saviors face is going to be..I can only imagine!

  9. Praise God He has not only given us a goal but the Holy Spirit within us to cause us to press forward to the goal, His covenant promises to keep us fast unto Himself. Because indeed, “I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.” Rom. 8:18

  10. Amen! That was very well said. An eternal life with Jesus is our “final prize” and one in which we should protect at all cost as there are people in this world who wish to take that from us. I for one say “Back Off Buddy”, not today, not any day! God Bless.

  11. I so agree with you – I am so looking forward to reach the final destination and seeing Him face to face. The race this side of heaven is so worth it…

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on this week’s IOW quote.

    Blessings to you and yours.

Leave a comment